Saved Filters and Email Alert Notifications
The Saved Filters + Notifications tab under the Alerts page allows users to save various filtered views of alerts for a fleet, group, site, or component. If the option to “Send Email Notifications for this filter” is selected, email notifications for saved alert filters will be sent. Saved filters and notifications are visible and editable by all users of a partner; care should be taken when editing or deleting filters or notifications not created by the user. This change was made after receiving feedback from customers requesting this level of visibility because notifications created under another user were difficult to locate in order to disable.
Creating a New Filter
A new filter can be created by clicking the Add Filters + Notifications button in the upper right hand corner of the page. After clicking the button, a screen will appear that will allow the user to name the filter, then filter for alerts based on fleet/group/site/component. In order to select several sites, they must be a part of a group. After filtering on that level, the user can then choose alert parameters based on:
- Status (Open/Open and Closed)
- Priority (High/Medium/Low)
- Type (Device Fault/Performance Index/Strings Performance/System Disconnect/Zero Generation)
Users are able to save filters without an email notification in order to quickly view a specific set of alerts for a fleet/group/site/component. If the user would like automated email notifications based on this filter, then the box would need to be checked for “Send Email Notifications for this filter”. Users can then enter an email(s), separated by commas to indicate where the alert email notifications will be sent. The configuration for Alert Notifications is limited to the Max Alert Frequency.
Max Alert Frequency Options:
Max Alert Frequency can be set to 3 min, 15 min, 30 min, 1 hour, 3 hours, 6 hours, 12 hours or 1 day. This is the maximum frequency the user will receive email notifications for the specific alert filter. At maximum, the user can receive (1) email every 3 minutes provided the alerts for a site have opened or closed. The user will not receive an email if the status of the site has not changed since the last email was sent. The user will not receive an email every 3 minutes that an alert is open. Emails are sent any time of day provided an alert has opened or closed and the Max Alert Frequency threshold is reached. After choosing all applicable parameters, the user would need to click “Create” and the new filter will show up under the Saved Filters + Notifications tab.
Examples of Alert Notifications:
- Max Alert Frequency of 3 minutes (Alert Status: Open and Closed):If (1) new alert is opened, the user will receive (1) email within 3 minutes of the alert(s) generating on the platform. If (1) alert closes, the user will receive (1) email within 3 minutes of the alert(s) generating on the platform.
- Max Alert Frequency of 1 hour (Alert Status: Open):If (10) new alerts open within the past hour, the user will receive (1) email alerting them that 10 new alerts have opened. If (10) alerts close within the past hour, the user will not receive an email because they did not have the Open and Closed box checked under Alert Status.
- Max Alert Frequency of 1 hour (Alert Status: Open):If (10) alerts closed within the past hour, the user will not receive an email because they did not have the Open and Closed box checked under Alert Status.
- Max Alert Frequency of 1 hour (Alert Status: Open and Closed)If (10) alerts opened and (5) closed within the past hour, the user will receive (1) email alerting them that (10) alerts have opened and (5) have closed.
Saved filters shows all previously created filters, their names, who they were created by, if an email is being sent for them, the max frequency, and when the last email was sent in the user’s timezone. Users can edit previous saved alerts by clicking on the appropriate filter name and making the applicable changes and pressing save. Not clicking save after changes are made, will result in the changes being reverted to the previous value. Users can delete previously saved alerts by clicking on the trash can icon next to the applicable alert filter and confirming deletion by clicking on the delete button.
Clicking the Alert icon to the left of the Notification name will take the user to the filtered Alert view that was saved. If the saved filter was for Site “ABC” with Open and Closed, High Priority, and Zero Generation/System Disconnect/Device Faults selected, clicking the alert icon will take the user to the Alerts page with the alerts filtered for Site “ABC” Open and Closed, High Priority, and showing Zero Generation/System Disconnect/Device Faults.